Colorado DUI Laws

If you operate a motor vehicle in the state of Colorado, this automatically requires you to submit to a chemical test upon request, by blood, breath, or urine to measure your blood alcohol concentration (BAC). If an officer of the law requires you to take a chemical test, and you refuse, your license will be revoked for one year. 

What is the blood alcohol concentration level (BAC) limit in the state of Colorado?

In the state of Colorado, it is a crime to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration level (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. This figure is considerably lower than the previous 0.10% prior to July 2004. Driving while ability is impaired by alcohol or drugs (DWAI) is also a crime, but the BAC level is lower. You will be charged with a DWAI if your BAC is between 0.05% and 0.07%. Although DWAI is a lesser offense, the penalties are just as stiff. 

In the state of Colorado what is the administrative license suspension period for a first offense?

In the state of Colorado, if you get arrested for DUI, the administrative license suspension time for a first offense is 3 months. Under administrative license suspension, the drivers’ license will be taken before conviction when he either fails or refuses to be tested for alcohol or drugs. During the 3 month revocation period, the driver may obtain a limited license only if he failed the test, not if he refused to take the test. 

In the state of Colorado, what are the penalties for a first DUI offense? Second offense?

Some first DUI offenses and all second and third offenses require interlock. For the first DWAI offense, the offender will accumulate 8 points toward license suspension and he will have to pay $100-$500 in fines as well as complete 24-48 hours of community service. For a first DUI offense, the offender’s driver’s license will automatically be suspended for up to one year and he will spend 5 days to one year in jail and child custody. Mandatory alcohol education is required for 3-9 months, and 48-96 hours of community service is required as well. You will also have to pay $300-$1,000.

For a second DWAI offense, the fine is from $300-$1,000, 45 days to one year in jail, 48-96 hours of mandatory public service and your license will be suspended for one year. For a second DUI offense, you will receive 12 points towards drivers license suspension, fines from $500-$1,500, and minimum 90 days to one year in jail. You will also be required to complete 60-120 hours of mandatory public service.

Colorado Auto Insurance Laws, Minimums, Requirements

the state of Colorado?

-In the state of Colorado, all drivers must carry minimum liability coverage of $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $15,000 per accident for property damage.

What is the Minimum Liability Coverage (Bodily Injury amounts per person, per accident, and property damage amounts):

If you buy automobile insurance in the state of Colorado, your policy must include minimum liability coverage of:

$25,000 per person for bodily injury
$50,000 per accident for bodily injury
and 
$15,000 per accident for property damage.

What are the Rental Car Insurance Requirements?

In the state of Colorado it is against the law to operate a motor vehicle without minimum liability, this includes rental cars. If your credit card or your current auto insurance policy does not cove car rentals, the state of Colorado requires that you carry a copy of the rental agreement when renting a motor vehicle, which specifies the insurance coverage.

What are the rules pertaining to washington dc estate laws?

Under Colorado law, driver’s are not required to carry medical payments or uninsured/underinsured motorists coverage, but all insurance companies are required to offer uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in an amount equal to the policy’s bodily injury coverage or one hundred thousand dollars per person and three hundred thousand dollars per accident, whichever is less. In addition, comprehensive and collision coverages are not required by Colorado. Colorado law requires collision coverage be offered by an insurance company.

What are the rules pertaining to the exclusion from coverage of a driver living in household?

In the state of Colorado, it is a common practice for insurance companies to exclude a driver from your policy for a variety of legitimate reasons under the law. This is permitted under Colorado law. Such exclusions must be stated in the policy or by endorsement. The driver’s coverage is not valid while a specifically excluded driver is allowed to drive the vehicle, so it is important to be aware of all policy driver restrictions.

What are the rules regarding whether a driver has prior insurance? That is, how does state law handle it if a driver has no prior insurance or has let their previous insurance lapse?

There is no statutorily required grace period on insurance premium payments. This means that if an insurance premium payment is due on the 15th of the month, the payment must be received by the insurance company on or before that date. Higher premiums may be charged and you might have a difficult time obtaining insurance coverage with a lapse in coverage even if you have a clean driving record.

Colorado law restricts the mid-term cancellation of auto insurance policies, except in cases of non-payment; suspended or revoked licenses; an insured knowingly made a false statement on a claim, and the insured knowingly made a false statement on the application. If an insurance company cancels your policy, the premium will be prorated without any penalty to you, but the reason for cancellation must be in compliance with C.R.S., 10-4-602. However, if you cancel the policy, there is normally a “short rate” penalty that usually amounts to about 10% – 15% of the return premium. If the policy is canceled early in the term, the penalty is greater than if it is canceled late in the term.

What are the rules and guidelines auto insurance companies must follow regarding the use of Personal Credit History in selecting applicants and setting rates?

Colorado state law permits the use of Personal Credit History to determine which products will be offered to any given applicant and what rates will be offered. In order to enjoy a lower insurance premium, pay your bills on time in an effort to improve your score. This will also help improve your credit history so that in the long run, you can save money on your car insurance premium. 

Is the state a No Fault or Tort state? What does either mean to the policy owner?

For thirty years prior to July 1, 2003, Colorado was a Tort state. Effective July 1, 2003 the Colorado State Legislature “deactivated” the thirty-year old No-Fault (PIP) system and Tort is currently effective. This means that the driver who is at fault in the accident must pay the victims medical expenses and the victim has the ability to file a court claim against the driver found to be responsible for the accident for any additional and related damages including pain and suffering and lost wages. Because Colorado is a Tort state, most insurance companies recommend that driver’s consider carrying higher coverages than the state minimums.

California Cell Phone Use/Texting While Driving Laws

In the state of California, it is illegal for drivers under the age of 18 to use a cell phone. This includes hands free and texting. A first violation carries a $20 traffic ticket. The second and third offenses will cost $50. Tickets become a part of your permanent California DMV record. 

California Teen DUI Laws


In the state of California, it is a crime for a teen to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration level (BAC) of 0.02% or higher. A BAC of 0.02% is equal to as little as one beer, one glass of wine or one mixed drink for most people. It can be even less for some. Proof of a BAC of 0.02% is all that is needed to convict a California teen of DUI. If you get caught driving with a BAC of 0.02% or higher, and you are between the ages of 13 and 21, your license will be suspended for 1 year on the spot. If you do not have a driver license yet, you will have to wait an additional year longer before you can apply for a license. You will also have to complete a DUI program to avoid any future Personal Injury cases. Any restriction, suspension, or probation will continue past your 18th birthday for its full term.

California Teen Auto Insurance Requirements

In the state of California, all drivers must carry auto insurance. You must carry 
minimum liability coverage of $15,000 for death or injury of any one person in any one accident; $30,000 for all persons in any one accident, and $5,000 for damage to property in any one accident (15/30/5). The risk of an auto accident is significantly higher during a teens first year behind the wheel. Because of this, California auto insurance companies recommend purchasing higher amounts of coverage than the legal limits. If you do not want to purchase a separate policy for your teen and you would rather add your teen driver to your existing policy, your annual rate will increase anywhere from $1,200 to $4,900 a year. The average increase, however, is $2,171 a year.

Although auto insurance premiums will increase if you add a teen to your policy or purchasing teen auto insurance will always be pricier than other policies, there are ways to qualify for discounts on teen auto insurance. Auto insurance companies offer discounts ranging from 10-15% or more for:

•    Maintaining at least a B average
•    Successful completion of a state approved safe driver course

The Consequences of Dying Without a Will

If somebody passes on without making a Will, at that point what will happen to the property, belonging and cash they’ve abandoned? In the UK, the domains of the individuals who bite the dust without a Will are liable to the Rules of Intestacy. This article investigates what that implies, and who will wind up as a recipient.

What Happens If Someone Dies Without A Will?

In the event that somebody bites the dust without having made a Will, they have kicked the bucket ‘intestate’. Thusly, the Rules of Intestacy will apply. This implies it is the law which figures out will’s identity a recipient of the perished’s home, and how much every recipient will get.

Shockingly, no thought is given to wishes the perished communicated in their lifetime: in the event that there is no legitimate Will, these desires are not lawfully official and can’t be completed.

The Rules Of Intestacy: Who Inherits What?

Intestacy Rules are intricate as there are numerous variables which must be considered, all of which will shift who will acquire what. Put basically, the guidelines on who will acquire the bequest of somebody who has kicked the bucket intestate can be clarified as pursues:-

* If you are legitimately hitched and have no different relatives then your life partner will get everything;

* If you are lawfully hitched and have kids yet your bequest is worth under £250,000 then your life partner gets everything. In the event that your bequest is worth more than £250,000, your mate will get £250,000 and a real existence enthusiasm for half of anything over this total. Your youngsters would get the staying half of the total over £250,000 quickly and be qualified for the other half on the passing of your companion;

* If you are legitimately hitched, have no youngsters yet do have guardians, siblings/sisters, grandparents, aunties/uncles and your domain is worth under £450,000 then your mate gets everything. In the event that your domain is worth more than £450,000, your companion would get £450,000 in addition to a large portion of the equalization. The staying half goes to different relatives arranged by need – guardians; siblings/sisters; stepbrothers/sisters; grandparents; close relatives/uncles; mates of aunties/uncles;

* If you are not lawfully hitched but rather have kids then your bequest will be shared between the youngsters;

* If you are not legitimately hitched, have no youngsters, but rather have guardians, siblings/sisters, grandparents, close relatives/uncles your domain will be shared similarly arranged by need;

* If you are not legitimately hitched and have no different relatives your whole bequest will go to the Crown.

It is vital to recollect, in any case, that Intestacy Rules are liable to change. For more data you ought to either contact the Probate Service or a lawful master.

Have You Received Reasonable Financial Provision?

Infrequently, somebody may feel the Intestacy Rules have not abandoned them with sensible money related arrangement. In the event that a domain has been circulated and you believe you have not gotten a satisfactory total, at that point there is move you can make. Essentially, you can make a case under the Inheritance Act 1975 with respect to the Provision For Family and Dependents. Those that need to make such a case ought to be of a specific association with the expired (eg. companion, youngster, subordinate or cohabitee). Furthermore, the case must be made inside a half year of the Probate Courts conceding Letters of Administration.

Get Expert Help.

Dealing with the home of somebody who has passed on can be confused under the most favorable circumstances, and it can turn out to be considerably increasingly troublesome if the perished has no Will. For help you should contact a lawful master. A specialist will have the capacity to help you with the Probate procedure, and can help clarify the Intestacy Rules completely. For assistance regarding anything elder law related, Medicaid Planning Wisconsin can help with all of your estate, health and long term care needs.

Drunk Driver Who Killed Georgia Family Gets 20 Years in Prison

The driver of a 2005 pickup that slammed into the rear of a 1994 pickup, killing all five occupants in a fiery crash, pled guilty to vehicular homicide charges and received a 20 year sentence for his role in the Georgia car accident. The at-fault driver had a blood alcohol content of .18, more than twice the legal limit in Louisiana, at the time of the rear-end collision.

The October 2009 crash immediately killed the youngest victim, a 2-year-old girl. The four others in the crash, a 54-year-old woman and her two daughters 27-years-old and 35-years-old and her son 22-years-old. The accident occurred along Interstate 10 in Baton Rouge during stopped traffic at 2 a.m. All members of the family were trapped inside the cab of the burning truck, suffering extensive third-degree burns.

The 32-year-old driver has since apologized for the crash and the pain and suffering caused as a result of the fatal car accident. He has also since become an ordained minister. The man refused to plead to lesser charges for his role in the impaired driving crash.

In a sad twist to the fatal car crash, the driver of the 2005 truck was released only two days prior to the accident from pretrial diversion program for a first-offense DWI in 2009.

For assistance in matters similar to this, contact accident attorneys in Monroe.

Bad left turn causes bus accident in Bay Area, injures 4

It is the sort of news no parent wants to hear: that their son or daughter was in a bus accident on the way to or from school. A recent collision of this sort in San Jose recently injured at least three teenage passengers, along with an adult. The cause of the bus accident is still under investigation.

It was a little after 4 p.m. on Oct. 3, suggesting that the bus was taking students home from San Jose High School for the day. The bus was going west when a pickup truck attempted a left turn too close to the large vehicle, a California Highway Patrol officer said. If you are involved in a situation similar to this, contact the best NYC personal injury attorney to receive the compensation you deserve.

Two New Jersey Men in Hospital after Car Accident

Getting into a car accident is a frightening experience. Crashes are unexpected and can happen in an instant. In the wake of an accident, the damages to both person and property can be extremely devastating.

Two men were injured in a car accident earlier today in New Jersey. Both men were quickly brought to a local hospital for their non-life threatening injuries. However,  the extent of their injuries was not detailed in the article.

The crash involved a police officer. He had been on his way to a different scene to assist a fellow officer. His vehicle was traveling through an intersection when another car struck the police officer’s vehicle on the passenger’s side. The impact caused the police car to spin and strike the other car.

The other car caught on fire; the officer immediately called for emergency responders, including the fire department. The officer then assisted the man in the other vehicle until responders arrived; at that time both men were taken to the hospital.

An investigation is still ongoing as the police department determines what caused the crash. Questions surround both the driver of the vehicle as well as the police officer. Were there alcohol or drugs involved? Was the driver impaired at the time? Did the police officer have his siren and lights on when he crossed the intersection?

Hopefully, there will be answers at the conclusion of the investigation. But in the event of a car accident, one question is always “how did it happen?”, especially if the crash caused serious injury or death. The best thing to do in this situation is to call a qualified car accident injury lawyer to protect yourself and best suit your needs. Contact the best Davie car accident injury attorney for an honest and professional opinion.

Millionaire Divorce Case: Allegations of Abuse, Hiding Assets

Florida divorce lawyers are watching the case of a Sewall’s Point couple who married in 2002 and are now getting divorced, but not peacefully and not inexpensively. There are about $50 million worth of assets between them.

William Lasky, 62, is chairman of the board, president and CEO of Accuride Corporation, a leading manufacturer of commercial vehicle components. Karen Lasky, 54, filed for divorce in September.

No prenuptial agreement exists, and the Florida divorce attorneys for both parties are contesting which assets are marital property, subject to equal distribution under Florida family law.

Both Laskys want exclusive use of their $6 million home. They each have at least eight vehicles, but they both want a 2008 Bentley Continental GT. Value: $150,000.

Both parties have claimed that the other party physically abused them. A domestic violence injunction against Mr. Lasky was dismissed when, in court, Mrs. Lasky backed off from her claim of abuse.

Mr. Lasky has said that “Many times she has physically abused me,” when she is intoxicated.

Mrs. Lasky is receiving $10,000 a month in temporary support. She claims monthly expenses of $58,000. He claims monthly expenses of $98,000.

Mrs. Lasky claims that Mr. Lasky was only worth $5 million when they married. He says he was already worth $25 million. Either way, his attorney claims that it was a “43-year career and a seven-year marriage.” Her attorney says that she needs a $500,000 advance on the final settlement; for legal fees. If you need legal assistance, don’t hesitate to speak to the most qualified Orlando injunction violation attorney out there.

The UK – The Work Horse of the European Union?

Still at Work?- An empirical test of competing theories of the long hours culture by Dr. Marc Cowling – Chief Economist of The Work Foundation and Natalie Turner, Researcher at The Work Foundation, looks not only at the extent of long hours worked across Europe, but at how Britons compare to other members of the EU. The study examines who is working the longest hours in Europe and tests competing hypotheses that seek to identify potential causes.

Unlike many previous research studies, which have tended to look at working hours in comparison to the US, and to treat Western Europe as one coterminous ‘lump’, this new research provides a country by country comparison across the EU. All 15 EU countries were examined, with workers in all major occupation groups assessed as well as workers in all industry sectors and socio-economic groups.

While the actual proportion of people working more than 60 hours per week in any one European country is still small, in the UK around 896,000 men and 492,000 women regularly work more than 60 hours per week. However, what is of interest is the culture of long hours, the concept of ‘presenteeism’ (people spending ever longer hours at their place of work because they think it is expected – if not productive) and the fact that long hours are increasingly acceptable to EU employers and employees.

The UK now has the second highest proportion of men working more than 60 hours per week in the EU, with Ireland the first. The pattern of working in excess of a 60 hour week is prevalent throughout the EU – Portugal lies just behind UK and Ireland in the table – with only Belgium and the Netherlands showing  less than the average number of workers working in excess of 60 hours each week.

Roles that ‘attract’ the highest proportion of long hours workers across the EU are – for men – administrators, skilled manual and salesmen and for women, legislators (senior administrators and middle manager in the public and private sectors) and skilled manual workers. One in five male administrators and skilled manual workers now work in excess of 60 hours per week. The industry sector is critical to determining how long you spend at work but it’s different for men and women. Men who work long hours are found in hotel and catering and transport and communications. For women, working in agriculture leads to putting in the most hours and only working in the hotel and catering sector comes close.

The research also shows some marked differences in the long hours culture between men and women. Although women do not work as long as men on the whole, women in more EU countries are working longer hours, and variations in the hours women work are more marked across different countries in the EU. Marginal disutility, the point at which longer hours become less productive, is also higher for women.

Also in terms of organizational type, those working in the private sector work significantly longer than public sector workers while the smaller a business is the more likely employees are to work long hours.

Another interesting variation is that men at the top and bottom income quartiles work the longest hours, whereas for women the propensity to work longer hours increases as they move through the income distribution quartiles. This suggests that the sexes are working long hours for different reasons.

To explain the concepts that The Work Foundation’s research has revealed, Dr. Cowling also examined some of the most commonly put forward explanations for these trends, and tested them against this new data. These results can be summarised as follows: –

Labour-Leisure Trade Off – the concept that people working longer hours will have less time for leisure consumption, that high earners will buy a different type of leisure and that the highest earners actually have more leisure time. The Work Foundation has found that work and leisure are not necessarily a trade-off. In fact, the only non-work activity associated with a reduction in hours is eldercare that, it can be argued is actually unpaid work. There is little evidence that higher incomes are associated with long hours. It appears that if both sexes want to ‘get on’ they will find ways of incorporating both work and leisure into their day.

Social Contagion is the concept that long hours are self-fulfilling and that long hours become an accepted part of an organization’s culture by newcomers conforming to established patterns. This theory has its roots in the 1980s and 1990s recessions where long hours became a way of job protection. The Work Foundation’s findings unsurprisingly reveal variations between industry sectors and that men find it more difficult to juggle long hours with social and family commitments and maintain a happy domestic life, the same is not true for women. Workers on fixed contracts – especially men – show job insecurity, working long hours to prove themselves and perhaps convert their contract to permanent employment. And, although the theory suggests that closely supervised workers work the longest hours, in fact, the opposite is true, with close supervision reducing the number of hours worked.

Escape from Family/Home Stress – this theory proposes that employees work long hours to escape from a stressful home life. In fact, it is difficult to tell if those working longer hours are dissatisfied at home. What can be noted is that while men find it difficult to work long hours and maintain family commitments, women with two or more children work longer hours compared to those with one or two children – perhaps to escape the chaos of home.

Rewards of Work – Work gives a feeling of well-being; those in higher status jobs get more from their home life and from their work – and therefore tend to work harder. It follows that individuals who work the longest hours will be more satisfied with their job and more involved with their work. Again, The Work Foundation has found that satisfaction is difficult to measure and that work involvement is a factor of occupational status rather than hours. Though there is no evidence that long hours working increases or decreases job satisfaction.

“This study and its methodology has revealed some real food for thought,” commented Dr Mark Cowling. “Firstly, the fact that we are looking at Europe as a group of very different EU countries is fairly unique. Most studies of this type tend to compare the UK with the US and Japan, meaning that the long hours worked in the UK does not seem atypical. It is only when compared to Europe that the true extent of our working culture becomes apparent. And, while all of the theories go some way to explaining the prevalence of this culture, none fully explain it. There is obviously more work to be done!”

“Every study of long hours is important for different reasons,” Dr Cowling continued, “Long hours cultures can have real implications for each country – they can lead to an increase in workplace stress, and a decline in productivity, as marginal productivity decreases with the number of hours worked. And, as long hours in the EU continue to increase, we are certain to hear more and more about the effects of long hours on EU employers and employees.”

Despite extreme differences in work culture between Europe and the United States, people work wherever you go. If you are injured on the job and believe you are entitled to workers’ compensation, speak to your trusted Philadelphia workers’ compensation lawyer.

 

Glen Burnie Sex Offender Wants Real Estate License Reinstated

 

A Baltimore-area real estate agent lost his professional license a year after he pleaded guilty to sex crimes. The convicted sex offender is asking a state appellate court to decide whether the Real Estate Commission’s choice to revoke his license in 2008 is unfair.

The licensing board stated that the agent’s conviction on sexual criminal charges undermined his “trustworthiness.” Two courts have backed the license revocation decision.

The real estate agent served one year’s jail time for the alleged sex offenses against young family members. He complied with court orders to register with the state as a sex offender.

The agent’s case will not be affected by a 2009 state law that promotes the employment of nonviolent sex offenders. The sexual assault charges against the real estate professional were considered violent, and the law did not take effect until after his conviction and license revocation.

The agent’s attorney argued before the court that her client’s trustworthiness on the job was not related to the crimes. Three counselors declared the agent to be no threat. The Real Estate Commission countered that it is obligated to protect consumers, even if a license holder’s actions are not “professional violations.”

One judge noted that none of the alleged sex crimes committed by the real estate agent occurred while he was working. The judge felt that the real estate agent would not have the opportunity to be alone with a child in the course of his job. Until the court makes a final decision, the Glen Burnie man is acting as a sales agent from his home.

This situation is a very clear example of the impact that a sex crimes conviction can have on a person’s life. In such cases, speaking to an experienced defense attorney may be helpful. Contact the most trusted criminal attorneys in Titusville for your best shot at a second chance.